7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2002-07-08 - 10:44 p.m.

I am 31 years old. This past Spring I graduated with my MFA in art. I have been in school for a long time. It has been necessary but it has also messed me up. I say it has been necessary because I have to justify the tremendous monetary expense of being in school the past five and a half years. But, I also believe that all journeys are necessary and that I could not be here were it not for the past five years. This said, I have been mulling it over and I do not think I will use my degree in any monetarily helpful or practically useful way. I think I'll go into farming.

I'm a kid from suburbia. I grew up outside of D.C. and would skip school sometimes to go to the Mall and tromp about the museums. When I got to be a jr. or so in high-school, I�d do this on acid. But, my folks also bought this old run down, decrepid farm near Frederick, MD. I was fourteen when they did this and I can truthfully say, it changed me. Or, perhaps it would be more appropriate to say it confirmed me.

I just returned about an hour ago from MD where I was helping my folks pack up their things in this suburban home and move them to the farm. They retired several years ago and they're finally moving to the farm.

I've been doing alot of driving this past month but tonight was the first time lately that I felt I was able to gain any clarity from the monotony of the road. It was during this drive that I think I've maybe decided to be a farmer. I�m skeptical of this pronouncement just as I am of calling myself an artist. I much prefer the verb version of things than the noun. There's too much definition in the noun whereas in the verb, by definition it is fluid. It is doing something which lends to being synonymous with change--the doing can stop, slow, speed up whatever.

I think I gotta stop. routine. believe in effiency and function. not a hobby but an occupation. be without pressure. don't want to change or save or be known but be good and do good and work with some piece of land.

before - after