7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2004-08-29 - 12:41 p.m.

Ugh!!! Is this in big font!? Our computer is acting all cfucked up and I hate the way this looks as a finished product! Ignore it! Pretend this is just normal. Or maybe it's just our computer? Moving on. Alright, there's some awfully cheesy parts to this and at the sweet, lovely, and awesome Molly's suggestion I'm going to hang onto this for a day or two or three before deciding whether or not to mail it. I wrote an entry this morning but as I was proof reading it our power blinked and gone it went. It was about this stuff but I elected not to rewrite. But then this shit just kept on eating at me. So, the result--a letter to Kenny.

I want to say this--(did I write of this once before?). How Ms. C, a 92 year old, very well off ex-mayor's widow who was raised a country girl and still has that down home quality about her mixed in with a bunch of Julia Child enthusiasm said one time that we needed to pray for Pres. Bush. That he was in trouble and leading this nation down a dark path. And that she would not vote for him because she's a democrat and does not approve of him as a man nor policy maker but that he needs our support. Our nation needs our support. I think she's right on. That whole pray for the enemy thing is strong stuff. Ghandi did it. Ms. C does it. I want to learn how to do it. Enact change through love.

Again, there's cheesy parts!

Kenny,

You're going to think I'm crazy writing you a doggone letter but I've got to. You see, I keep thinking about our conversation yesterday. It bothered me all day yesterday and troubled me through the night. When I found myself still thinking about it this morning, I decided that I'd have to do something--thus, this letter.

I am not writing to get in one more word Pro-Kerry or one more bash against Bush. This letter is not about politics. I'm not going to try and sway you to my side. Rather, that is exactly why I am writing you--that our discussion yesterday broke down into sides. You see, it is extremely important to me that in my daily doings of life, I carry myself with the compassion and love of Christ's teachings. This is a compassion and love for all of humanity, as Christ loved all of the world. It includes those that I agree with or not. Those that are my neighbors here in Pleasant Ridge, or those that are illegal aliens from Mexico, Africa, or Asia. Christ taught us to love and that it is God's greatest of instruments. And as he forgave and loved the Roman soldier who pierced his side, I am trying to learn how to love and forgive those who murdered many of us on 9-11. I am also trying to learn how to love and forgive those who are my neighbors and who themselves harbor feelings of hate and racism. Those who hate our new immigrants from Latin America. Or, those who would prefer to hate the doctors who perform abortions rather than love the women who for whatever reason consider abortion.

It is not an easy struggle.

So Kenny, you and I are different. The wrongs of the world, we see differently. But, I do think we have certain things in common: the love for those we care about; a willingness to help our neighbors; a want to do the right thing; a belief that Christ can be our guide. I apologize to you. Yesterday, I did not see you as my brother. I was ready for another civil war. Forgive me.

Sincerely,

Jeff

before - after