7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2004-04-14 - 8:16 p.m.

so this is the thing that I love...that there is a single sock sitting on this desk, back to the side of the computer. This sock makes my heart swoon and go pitter patter.

I also love this--that molly just read this to me--"I had an ailment that was inhibiting my legs, they were heavily inflamed."

I can hear this in a whiny voice to some heavy guitar.

I'm a bit drunk. A bottle o wine minus a glass after a day o work.

I saw something today. A roof top. It was a house--a castle really (literally) built for a corportate founder in 1927. It was made of these textured fired clay slates. Like if the individual pieces of a Mexican tile roof were flat instead of curved and each piece had texture to them. From the bucket, I looked down along the several peaks, turrets, and dormers of this 9000 sq foot house and was in a fantasy land--like the children picture books of roof tops in France.

She has these three trunks of trees--the trees were lost in a previous storm---and the tops of these 20-25 foot poles are carved. One is a geodesic dome, another a miniture house?, and the third a pencil point.

Each cranny of this place is jammed packed full of stuff. She had a mattress and boxspring set aside for a homeless dude who never came to collect, stacks and stacks of magazines, bags of packing popcorn, mysterious questionables covered with tarps, cushions, children's toys...She had a live dog who barked and wagged his tail.

There used to be a tunnel underground that ran from this place across the park where horse and carriage would deliver booze to the butlers who would then usher it through the house to be administered to the guests. The tunnel has since caved in but she wants to have a digging party and excavate it.

There's a cottage that was the gardners's house (and briefly I thought, Oh we could stay there and have an apt. in town for weekdays! She'd certainly oblidge this request--she would). She's a sweet, sweet woman who speaks in that brogue that's a mix of Irish and Southern that's definitly from Eastern NC. She's got to be loaded (is she?) to be sitting on such a place in such a neighborhood (one of the oldest in G-boro) but with the condition that it's in she might not be. And she certainly doesn't put on airs like she is--she's a pure pleasure to work for which can be such a rarity when the folks got money. Offered to go get us hamburgers which hasn't ever happened from somebody with dough.

She's a pleasure and I thank the heavens for her.

For Stacey too with that crazy house and Pat and his boyfriend and their $150,000.00 horses (and the way he posted on that stallion in them chaps! Boy, to see it'd make you croon regardless of preference--he and I stared each other down, me with blood crusted on my face, lust or disgust?).

And for Will who is the best person I could have ever imagined being in business with. Thank you God for Will who brought me down while I sat in the bottom of the bucket regaining myself while the blood streamed down my face and my head swirled. Thank you for helmets and harnesses and that we wear them--for urgent care and super glue. Thank you for T-bone (a knot a day, bless him), all our pups, and the super duper, dear Molly!!

Oh, thank you for Molly!

And the test that says it's time!

The end!

before - after