7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2004-12-12 - 8:00 p.m.

Another reason today has been such a wonderful day--The Oxford American is back and boy dog, it is BACK! This issue rocks! I've about read it cover to cover and it just makes me happy!

There's a clip on the Elephant sanctuary in Tenn., and this crazy piece about the serpentarium in Wilmington (which we just may go see New Years), and I dig the pieces by Budnitz, Davis, Fitzgerald, and Brockmeier.

Plus, the getting out yesterday did wonders for my spirits. I never would of known Siler City to be quite a cool little place.

I've actually half way got the itch to make something.

Boy, this house'll be done soon. I know if I'm going to make something, it's gotta start this day but, shit, that ain't gonna happen. But maybe soon. There will be the space and the room for it. And, there will be the time!

What to make---I should start with lists. I mentioned this earlier--I'll make lists and maps to locate myself again. Once I've discovered where I'm at, I'll then set to documenting the terrain. I'll need to pull out all the resources--the influences, the writings, pictures, ideas, people--get these out in the open so I'm clear about my history. With my history out, my terrain mapped, my memory jogged, perhaps I'll see where to go. And if not, I can put it all away and plant trees or something.

A border of red and white cedars along the road there by the strawberries and the mulch.

To loose one's ambition--that is my goal. And then, maybe, I can create.

before - after