7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2003-12-06 - 7:43 p.m.

So I was off to be a farmer or a house rennovator or some such. I didn't quite know how, the logistics and details but this is where I was trying to go. I was going to build tree houses for the funds and do some carpentry for folks. But now, it looks like I'm going to be a part of an all out professional tree care company--and I'm kind of excited. It's quite an uncanny turn of events. In timing and such. And I feel like it arose from choice and it's something I'm choosing. It's not a lesser of dreads or a postponing of dreams as much as it is a step on the way.

I'm going to learn some stuff. I'm going to get certified Arborist (bygod) and I'm going to be damned good at this work. I'm already damned good at this work but it takes such a toll on my body and health and spirits. No more more of that business. It's stretching and yoga and massage therapy (every week until I'm limber and then on a maintence schedule). I'm a bit of a fearless motherfucker. I mean, I got fear and the shit scares me. But, I'm smart and I know and I just do the work. It puts me close to God. I'm a samari tree climber and I face my death dropping the top of a pine at seventy five feet. That's no joke, my doggone rope was purely doubled, both ends barely brushing the ground. And I'm a braggard I am and I can't help but have a little glee. Will, one of us three hollared from the ground, "You like this!" I was embarrassed almost at my grin.

So, it is three of us. Will, Andy and me. Will has already laid out the cash for a bucket truck which we found in SC and bought. Andy laid down over a thousand bucks in climbing gear and has been hoofing it up trees just about every other day. I like these fellas. Andy's my cousin and I've always liked him. The trip to SC was crazy, breaking down and what not on the way back. The bucket truck only doing thirty five for a while there til we got that part fixed. Also, always pouring exhaust into the cab from a leak in the muffler. Each of us could only stand it for about an hour before having to switch drivers. The whole trip being whoever was driving the bucket truck had his head out the window for fresh air and two coats on to keep from freezing.

These co-owners are some racist bastards though. Will is and isn't (like most of us I reckon?). Andy is flat out eye squinting awful. I've already said something about watching it--their language and all about black people or latinos or gays and lesbians. But, this is going to be my bane in this fortune. We aren't hiring white boys though (Will is in agreement here) so this shit is going to have to work itself out of the system quick. It's ignorance but puzzling. I keep thinking of Jim and how he wouldn't stand for it at his metal fab co.

Alright, guess I'm done here for now. Time to wahoo with salad, pizza, beer and fine ms. molly. I love that she's been crocheting all day. We took a trip to Md not too long back and that gal crochetted a hat along the way. It was pure sweetness. She's awesome.

before - after