7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2003-06-08 - 9:53 a.m.

Ahh, hello, hello. I love the morning. Slept the night listening to the rain on the roof and loving the hell out of being horizontal.

Done done, did the party--the going away party I didn't even know was being thrown for us until the day before. Dealt with all them folks, ugh. But made it through not so bad.

And now it is here, still raining and I'm glad. It's just France, JB and I which seems wonderfully quiet. I think the trick is to go to a party thrown in your honor with lots of folks you barely have a word to say or have a fish fry where you think somebody is your friend but who does a 180 and trips out on you. Do this for two nights in a row and if you wake with just one other person in your proximity, it'll seem like solitude.

Ahh, quiet and solitude.

For my conscience, it was nice to see some folks at this party. Susan made us this journal out of homemade seaweed paper. She gave it to us and I was talking with her, telling her about farming and she asked, "What about your art?" I told her I kind of see the farming as being my art and boy, she got me. Said, "It's all the same thing isn't it, it's the way of life." And she was excited and thrilled. She and John, neither keeps a job more than a year, the family was banned for some time from the host of the party's house because one of their sons is "too wild" but them with their three kids and their lives are soo good. So right on. Their house is full of art making stations and their kids are these wonderful independent people. This was nice, talking with her.

And, I got washed again yesterday by this film, All the Real Girls. France, JB, and I saw it yesterday afternoon, and if ever there was a more wonderful film, I don't know it. It's imperfect but I love it for its imperfections. The movie just washes over you, it's filmed southern, it's image oriented, it's pace is like the French Broad, the acting is stilted, especially in the beginning but then grows as the characters settle into their roles, and it is without end. About the acting, and this also happens on Buffy, that we watch each actor settle into their roles makes them more believable. It reinforces the fact that these are real people doing this real thing, acting, and in this, it is without pretention and is honest in a way that some smooth, got the role down pat acting cannot be. This is perhaps, why I love All the Real Girls so much--for it's sincereity, honesty and truthfulness in story telling. I believe I've written about this film before.

So today I am going to go and eat me up some D land. I'm going to clean. I'm going to work, and soon we're going to go to MD.

before - after