7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2003-05-16 - 7:48 p.m.

Spiritual music--this My Morning Jacket. Ahh, peace.

Been working fairly frantically here this week trying to get a bunch of tree customers out of the way before going to MD. I like the part where I get up at 6-6:30 and out the door quick like but unhurriedly. I like the sunshine. I like feeling a little crisp. I don't like the being tired--I mean I do, but not the exhausted, can't even think, grumpy tired. Truthfully, I even like that a little bit as long as I'm not whiney. If I'm whiney, just go ahead and shoot me--I'm really obnoxious.

Anyway, I'm glad to finally be here even though I'm going to skip what I've been wanting to write about all week. I kind of just want to go read Cold Mountain. I want to be Ada and Ruby. I want to be them both because they're so good together, each being and doing things that I so love. It made me very glad to read that Ruby thought that the root cellar was a bit shallow and that they'd have to dig it another foot deeper to keep the potatoes from freezing. I want to dig a root cellar and on really hot days go sit in it and drink cold water.

I think I also want to live in a tent for awhile. Set it up nice on some loamy but level soil and have a big tan tarpoulin over it to shed the rain. I'd want to keep the rain fly off and have the tent be very airy with lots of them no-see-um window/nets so that the tent would really just serve to keep them pesky mosquitos away.

Near the tent would be a path to a good ole fashion outhouse situated so you could sit with the door open. I like an outhouse with a view.

Yep.

Cold Mountain.

I look forward to and dread going to the farm tomorrow. It will be good to get this part over--not the going but the getting there. Talk is waiting and sometimes I hate talking.

before - after