7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2004-06-26 - 10:21 a.m.

Hey there B and T,

I'd about send you a good ole fashioned hand written letter this morning but I'm not sure where your mailing address got off to so e-mail'll have to do. How are you both!? I ran into Joel not too long ago and he filled me in a little on your lives. That you're teaching B and that the store is going well. That's great to hear--I'd love to hear more.

It was nice to see J. I've been about half starved for his (and your) kind of company. I've got Molly here who I dig every day but the day in and day out places me among too many republicans for my like. There are blissful exceptions but conservatives tend to be the rule. Lately, I've even had to dodge Mr. Brown from being flat, worn out from country-ness in a not so nice country way.

Truth is, some days I'm about burnt out. I've been working like a dog (whip slashed mule'd be more like it). But, don't let these moaning words mislead you, I'm also doing really well.

Tree biz Inc. is slowly but surely taking off. My partner is an embodiment of what I love and hate about the south. To describe him: he's a pseudo vegetarian, former prize winning rodeo rider (who has taught me how to rope--just the cow dummies so far, not the real thing yet), and health conscious (and hip) ex-juice shop owner who has every type of friend in the world but still falls back to redneck ways when mad or startled. He's a sensitive type and truly a momma's boy (he bought his dad a ring to give to his mom on valentine's day with all the spare change he'd been saving since a kid--it was about a $2000.00 ring) and he goes to the gym, not to work out so much as to talk to everybody and to listen to folks' stories and problems--he's a shoulder in the hot tub for the Russian doctor to cry on since her American husband died. He's an awesome contradiction of sorts (but who isn't?) and I'm very thankful for him. He's a killer business partner. I've never seen anybody get along with more types of people, laugh, and cry (literally--I've seen it!) with them and preserve everybody's integrity while selling them on tree work. He's amazing. We've built the business up and now have a bucket truck, brand new chipper, grapple truck, and every bit of gear you can imagine. We've got a chainsaw from tip to end, five feet long. It's a little crazy. Truthfully, I never would of imagined.

Our plan is to hire on a crew next year. (T and B, you're getting the low down. Hope this isn't too boring, but remember, I've been a bit starved for the likes of you!) We'll run the business a year or two more after that then sell it. My plan is to then take that capital and do the Samuel Mockbee thing. I'm in this tree business full on right now working seventy hour weeks (we're trying to scale back and pace ourselves) but it's not truly my thing. It's something I'm good at and can be quite exciting but it's not something completely fulfilling. I'm hell bent on being spoiled. I want in my life work that isn't work, even if I have to work like hell in the short term to get it. It's a work I've got to create for myself because I'm really lousy at adhering to anybody else's plan. Sometimes, all this sucks but I also believe that it's worth it for me.

You'd get a kick out of the car I drive--a '93 neon green Geo Metro hatch back. Oh, it's an ugly, tiny 3 cylinder car. I'm a little buff these days from the work--I know it's gotta look funny. But, let me tell you, I love it! 50 plus miles to the gallon! I get the itch to hit on chics (or guys for that matter) when crusin' in that car.

So, how's that hound dog? How're your families? How about your wedding plans? J told me you're holding off til you finish a paper tux? That's rockin'! Our house here is full of three dogs, two cats plus a soon to be adopted stray. I hang on to the singulair everyday but love them critters.

I guess I'll mosey. It's a glorious rain soaked day here! If you two ever get this way, I'd love to see you. I believe my post-divorce, outside people hiatus is about over with and you are certainly two very fine folks I'd like to stay in touch with.

Big howdys to D'tin too--I hear he's living with you.

Best, best regards,

Jeff

p.s. Hey, what's your current address?

before - after