7 & 1/2 Acres

current. older. profile. mail.
angle. guests. diaryland.





2004-05-31 - 8:04 a.m.

Oh the difference a day can make. That and a clean house. That and one more day--this day off. Additionally, a short week ahead as I've got appointments for Friday to finalize some divorce stuff.

I finally started to get my groove back on yesterday. It took a lot of dragging and moping and some sitting with The Hot Zone but I started to get there. Small steps. Unloaded Molly's truck of dirt. Planted tomatos, peppers, basil, and milkweeds in it. These things mixed in with a flowerbed I planted last year-- jo-pye weed, butterfly bushes, cone flower, bee balm, and some type of sunflower--I forget the name. I do gardening best this way--as part of the landscape. A garden as a garden doesn't do well for me. It has to be mixed with other things in a place with other functions--then I can start to get it right and have it flourish.

I also took down our fence and may get it back up today but in the back yard. If I could draw you a picture here on this place I would. I have an idea for a future fence using white oak log rounds split in the middle like half moons with bamboo pickets rising off their curves. One day.

I believe I need to wear britches today. Not for the temperature but for the bugs and weeds. And the weedeating. I do long for a day when the grass around here is minimal and we pay Mr. William's grandson to come mow it. And somebody else to come clean our house. No phone line. No internet. No cable TV. But we've got a house cleaner and a yard boy. Those'd be my priorities.

I think, in part, the reason for yesterday's upturn is this place here. Sitting down here the other night was good for me. I might be back around these parts for a bit. If my schedule can slip it in once these days off conclude. There's not much breathing room in my working days.

In my very brief reread of entries past, I was reminded of what I was doing last year this time. Money was tight but I was forgoing outside work to work here on this house. I had a groove on and was knocking out projects one by one. That part of last year felt very good. There were other parts that felt as equally good. There were also tough parts as such is. I think I'm on the right track. These are the early days and the crawling stages. The big picture should work for me. I have to be patient and remember to believe and have faith. And if it ever gets to where it isn't so, I'm bound by no chains.

before - after